Disable Firefox Sync

Firefox Sync allows you to sync your bookmarks, logins and passwords, browsing history, tab settings and other items across various devices. See How do I set up Sync on my computer? to learn more about how to turn on Sync.

You can disable Sync, if you like, to avoid syncing your data across certain devices when creating or signing into a Firefox Account. You'll remain signed in to your account even after Sync has been disabled, unless you decide to sign out. You can also disable Sync for devices that have been synced previously. For additional information, see Remove a synced device from Firefox Accounts.

Note: You can sign up for a Firefox Account without having to enable Firefox Sync immediately.

Disable Sync for previously synced devices

To disable Sync for previously synced devices:

  1. In the Menu bar at the top of the screen, click Firefox and select Preferences. Click the menu button Fx57Menu and select OptionsPreferences.Click the menu button Fx89menuButton and select Settings.

  2. Click Sync from the menu options to open the sync settings panel.
  3. Click the Change… button in the Syncing: ON subsection.
    The Choose What To Sync pop-up will open.
    Sync_protonDisconnect Sync fx71
  4. Click Disconnect…. A confirmation prompt will appear.
    Sync_protonPromptFx71DisableSync-DisconnectPrompt
  5. Click the Disconnect button in the Disconnect Sync? prompt.

This Firefox profile will stop syncing your account but won’t delete any data or settings. The Sync panel of your Firefox OptionsPreferencesSettings page will now show Syncing: OFF.

Fx89SyncingOffFx71SyncingOff
Note: To turn syncing back on, click Turn on syncing…Set Up Sync… in the Sync panel of your Firefox OptionsPreferencesSettings page.
  1. Click the Firefox Account icon in the toolbar.

    syncavatar logged out
  2. Select Sync Settings from the drop-down menu.
    Sync Settings fx71
    The Sync panel of your Firefox OptionsPreferencesSettings page will open.
  3. Click the Change… button in the Syncing: ON subsection.
    The Choose What To Sync pop-up will open.
    Disconnect Sync fx71
  4. Click Disconnect…. A confirmation prompt will appear.
    Fx71DisableSync-DisconnectPrompt
  5. Click the Disconnect button in the Disconnect Sync? prompt.

Firefox will stop syncing your account but won’t delete any data or settings. The Sync panel of your Firefox OptionsPreferencesSettings page will now show Syncing: OFF.

Fx71SyncingOff
Note: To turn syncing back on, click Set Up Sync… in the Sync panel of your Firefox OptionsPreferencesSettings page.

Disable Sync for an existing Firefox Account on a new device

You can disable Sync when first signing into an existing Firefox Account on a new device. (This also applies when you first create a new Firefox profile.)

  1. Enter your email address on the Welcome to Firefox page that displays when you first start Firefox and click Continue.
    Fx71Welcome
  2. Enter your Firefox Account password on the next Sign In screen.
  3. Click Don’t sync this device.
    Fx71signin-SyncOption

You will be signed in to your Firefox Account but Sync will not be set up for the new device.

Note: You can bypass the Send Firefox directly to your smartphone and sign in to complete setup page, by opening a new tab or window. A mobile phone number is not required.

Was this article helpful?

Please wait...

These fine people helped write this article:

Illustration of hands

Volunteer

Grow and share your expertise with others. Answer questions and improve our knowledge base.

Learn More