Search Support

Avoid support scams. We will never ask you to call or text a phone number or share personal information. Please report suspicious activity using the “Report Abuse” option.

Learn More

Can TB automatically delete autosave drafts?

  • 1 reply
  • 1 has this problem
  • 3 views
  • Last reply by Zenos

more options

I recently reinstalled TB and noticed that autosaved drafts are piling up in All Mail. I did not notice this problem before.

Part of the problem was that I had set autosave to save every 5 minutes. I can change that setting but the real question is if there a way to make Thunderbird delete autosave drafts after the message has been sent.

I am guessing that the answer is that this is not possible, but want to check just to be sure.

All Replies (1)

more options

Why are you fishing around in All Mail? I keep seeing people complaining about what they can and can't do in this folder, but my take on it is that you don't or shouldn't need to work with it directly.

All messages stored in gmail are actually stored under All Mail. When you do something to a message in gmail it is labelled. The label generally tells what view or folder the message will be visible in. You don't delete messages in gmail; they are given a "deleted" label and left in All Mail. This means that they will appear in your Deleted folder, allowing them to be undeleted. If you delete them from Deleted then gmail takes the hint that you really don't want the message and will really delete it.

Do your drafts not appear under Deleted? That would be the logical place to go to in order to remove them permanently.