Moving emails with "mark as deleted"
I set the option "mark as deleted" under "server settings" for all my accounts.
For one of my accounts, if I move an email with TB60 (Linux, Cyrus IMAP) it is marked as deleted, but does not disappear from the original folder (I have just checked this). Under TB91 the email disappears from the folder as if it has been auto-compacted. I think TB68 behaves as TB60, but I cannot remember/test TB71. Is there a setting I can use to recover the old behaviour?
Thanks for any help.
All Replies (2)
I wouldn't swear to how mark as deleted works on those older versions, but I doubt much has changed....
In all releases, it should be the case that "Mark as deleted" doesn't move anything - so it shouldn't disappear from the original folder. That's the whole idea of Mark as deleted.
Thanks. I was not clear enough.
- If I explicitly delete a message in a folder, the message is marked as deleted as expected.
- If I move a message to another folder (and hence implicitly delete the message), after the message is moved the behaviour seems to be different for TB60 and TB91. In the case of TB60 the message was marked as deleted in the original folder; in the case of TB91 the message disappears from the original folder. I prefer the former.
My question is, can I make TB91 behave as TB60?