Search Support

Avoid support scams. We will never ask you to call or text a phone number or share personal information. Please report suspicious activity using the “Report Abuse” option.

Learn More

synchronizing

  • 2 replies
  • 0 have this problem
  • 5 views
  • Last reply by James

more options

I often use the cync, as its very a usefull tool, for when my pc crashes and I have to re-install windows. What is a real pain though, is even when I have the latest version of fire fox installed , after cync has completed, I stll get back many book marks that I have deleted well be before my last recync and with an older version of firefox. Which i find to be a real pain.

Would it not be possible to change the way cync works, ie, you cold add a button, words to the effect "cync from online to you", in that way, I know I am getting the book marks and data I sent up there last time, I cync-ed

Or to cync your data, when wishing to put all your latest bookmarks offline, would it not be possible to "clear online bookmars and data.

Anys I hope this helps you to understand the problem

Many Thanks

Carl Harrop

I often use the cync, as its very a usefull tool, for when my pc crashes and I have to re-install windows. What is a real pain though, is even when I have the latest version of fire fox installed , after cync has completed, I stll get back many book marks that I have deleted well be before my last recync and with an older version of firefox. Which i find to be a real pain. Would it not be possible to change the way cync works, ie, you cold add a button, words to the effect "cync from online to you", in that way, I know I am getting the book marks and data I sent up there last time, I cync-ed Or to cync your data, when wishing to put all your latest bookmarks offline, would it not be possible to "clear online bookmars and data. Anys I hope this helps you to understand the problem Many Thanks Carl Harrop

All Replies (2)

more options

Here are the FAQ firefox sync question sections.

https://support.mozilla.org/en-US/kb/how-do-i-choose-what-information-sync-firefox https://support.mozilla.org/en-US/questions/1336187 https://support.mozilla.org/en-US/kb/sync-logins-firefox-desktop https://support.mozilla.org/en-US/kb/how-do-i-set-sync-my-computer

Remember sync isn't a backup it only sync between devices and if the password changes it deletes the synced data to the other devices.

Helpful?

more options

Dropa said

Here are the FAQ firefox sync question sections. https://support.mozilla.org/en-US/kb/how-do-i-choose-what-information-sync-firefox https://support.mozilla.org/en-US/questions/1336187 https://support.mozilla.org/en-US/kb/sync-logins-firefox-desktop https://support.mozilla.org/en-US/kb/how-do-i-set-sync-my-computer Remember sync isn't a backup it only sync between devices and if the password changes it deletes the synced data to the other devices.

It syncs between the sync server and not directly between devices as one would not be able to sync if a device was turned off or not connected.

Look at the articles like these two mentioning sync servers ;) https://support.mozilla.org/en-US/kb/ive-lost-my-firefox-sync-account-information https://support.mozilla.org/en-US/kb/how-firefox-securely-saves-passwords

Helpful?

Ask a question

You must log in to your account to reply to posts. Please start a new question, if you do not have an account yet.